This event is endorsed
and organized by

EAI International Conference on Innovations and Interdisciplinary Solutions for Underserved Areas

March 24–25, 2018 | Kigali, Rwanda
Id Track Title Authors
275476 Main track A Study of the Wind Potential in the Three Climatic Zones of Chad: KEBE, Cheikh M Fadel<cmkebe@gmail.com>
275435 Main track Building Energy Audit in Nigeria: Some Guides for Energy Efficiency Building Regulations Mambo, Abdulhameed Danjuma<abdulhameed.mambo@nileuniversity.edu.ng> (Department of Civil Engineering, Nile University of Nigeria)
275413 Main track On the prevalence of Boomerang Routing in Africa: Analysis and Potential Solutions Gueye, Assane<assane1.gueye@uadb.edu.sn>; Mbaye, Babacar<babacar.mbaye@uadb.edu.sn> (UADB)
275326 Main track Challenges and Opportunities in Instrumentation and Use of High-Density EEG for Underserved Regions Krishnan, Ashwati<ashwatik@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Kumar, Ritesh<riteshk@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Etienne, Arnelle<aetienne@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Robinson, Amanda<amanda.robinson@uqconnect.edu.au> (Carnegie Mellon University); Kelly, ShawnK.<skkelly@cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Behrmann, Marlene<behrmann@cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Tarr, Michael<michaeltarr@cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Grover, Pulkit<pulkit@cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University)
275315 Main track Multi-Soil-Layering Technology: New Solution for Sanitation Linking Hygiene to Food Security in Developing Countries. LATRACH, LAHBIB<latrachlahbib@gmail.com> (National Center for Research and Study on Water and Energy, Cadi Ayyad University, Marrakech, Morocco.)
275314 Main track Investigation of Degradation in Crystalline Silicon Photovoltaic Modules after 10 years exposition in Senegal by Infrared (IR) and Electroluminescence (EL)  NDIAYE, Ababacar<ababacar.ndiay@gmail.com> (Université Assane Seck de Ziguinchor, UFR – Sciences et Technologies, Département de Physique, BP 523 Ziguinchor, Sénégal. Centre International de Formation et de Recherche en Energie Solaire (CIFRES), Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique – UCAD, BP 5085 Dakar-Fann, Sénégal.); Kébé, Cheikh M. F.<cmkebe@gmail.com> (Centre International de Formation et de Recherche en Energie Solaire (CIFRES), Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique – UCAD, BP 5085 Dakar-Fann, Sénégal); Bilal, Boudy Ould<boudy_bilal@yahoo.fr> (Ecole des Mines de Mauritanie (EMiM), BP 5259, Nouakchott, Mauritanie); Charki, Abdérafi<abderafi.charki@univ-angers.fr> (Université d’Angers–ISTIA–LARIS, 62 Avenue Notre Dame du Lac 49000 Angers, France); Sambou, Vincent<vinsambou@yahoo.fr> (Centre International de Formation et de Recherche en Energie Solaire (CIFRES), Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique – UCAD, BP 5085 Dakar-Fann, Sénégal); Ndiaye, Papa Alioune<papaas.ndiaye@ucad.edu.sn> (Centre International de Formation et de Recherche en Energie Solaire (CIFRES), Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique – UCAD, BP 5085 Dakar-Fann, Sénégal)
275160 Main track ICT Performance Indicators in Formal Education at the Secondary School Level in Rwanda  Mugisha, Robert<rmugisha@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Gumyusenge, Florien<fgumyuse@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Garba, AminataA<aminata@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Saint, Martin<msaint@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University)
275158 Main track The Impact of Over the Top Service Providers In The Rwandan Telecommunications Market: An Analysis of Business Models Kwizera, Emelyne<ekwizera@alumni.cmu.edu>; Mico, Darius<dmico@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Nayebare, Michael<mnayebare@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Garba, AminataAmadou<aminata@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University); Saint, Martin<msaint@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University)
275100 Main track Projected changes in the seasonal cycle of extreme rainfall indices from the regional climate model REMO over Central Africa Fotso Nguemo, Thierry Christian<fotso.nguemo@gmail.com> (Laboratory for Environmental Modelling and Atmospheric Physics (LEMAP), Department of Physics, Faculty of Science, University of Yaounde 1, P.O. Box 812 Yaounde, Cameroon); Diallo, Ismaïla<ismailla.diallo@gmail.com> (Department of Geography, University of California Los Angeles (UCLA), CA 90095 Los Angeles, USA); Diakhaté, Moussa<mdiakhate@gmail.com> (Laboratoire de Physique de l’Atmosphère et de l’Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, P.O. Box 5085 Dakar-Fann, Sénégal); Vondou, Derbetini A.<debertini@yahoo.fr> (Laboratory for Environmental Modelling and Atmospheric Physics (LEMAP), Department of Physics, Faculty of Science, University of Yaounde 1, P.O. Box 812 Yaounde, Cameroon); Mbaye, Mamadou L.<mamadoullaminembaye@gmail.com> (Département de Physique, Unité de Formation et de Recherches en Sciences et Technologies (UFR-ST), Université Assane Seck, P.O. Box 523 Ziguinchor, Sénégal); Gaye, Amadou T.<attgaye@gmail.com> (Laboratoire de Physique de l’Atmosphère et de l’Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Ecole Supérieure Polytechnique, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, P.O. Box 5085 Dakar-Fann, Sénégal); Tchawoua, Clément<kwidefack@gmail.com> (Laboratory of Mechanics, Department of Physics, Faculty of Science, University of Yaounde 1, P.O. Box 812 Yaounde, Cameroon)
272918 Main track COMMUNITY PARTICIPATION IN FLOOD DISASTER MANAGEMENT IN NIGERIAN CITIES: A REVIEW OF CITIZENS’ RELEVANCE IN ACHIEVING SUSTAINABLE URBAN ENVIRONMENT Daramola, Oluwole<oluwoledaramola@gmail.com>
275482 Poster Track Improvement of Post-Harvets and enhancement of fonio in West Africa: Designing and monitoring of a Greenhouse dryer for SMEs KEBE, Cheikh M Fadel<cmkebe@gmail.com>
275481 Poster Track Analysis of the impact of load profiles on the optimal rural electrification solution by stand Alone PV/Wind/Diesel/Battery: Case of climatic zones of Chad KEBE, Cheikh M Fadel<cmkebe@gmail.com>
275480 Poster Track Technico-economic analysis of Stand alone PV/Wind/ Diesel/battery  for rural electrification in the 3 climatic zones of Chad KEBE, Cheikh M Fadel<cmkebe@gmail.com>
275349 Poster Track African Green Cloud Computing: a Sustainable Green ICT Solution for Africa and the World Hassan , Mahamat Issa<mhtissa@gmail.com>
275333 Poster Track Promoting low-cost sensors, mobile apps and open data platforms for acting on climate change and reducing exposure to air pollution and its disease burden in Niger Sidi Zakari, Ibrahim<sidizakariibrahim@gmail.com> (Abdou Moumouni University); Abdou Alio, Mouhibatou<mouhibat.aa@gmail.com> (National Hospital of Niamey, Niger)
275322 Poster Track Predictability of burned area and active fire on inter-annual and multi-year timescales in Guinea BARRY, Mamadou Baïlo<boubailomariam@yahoo.fr> (Laboratoire de Physique de l'Atmosphère et de l'Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar, Institut Supérieure des Sciences de l'Education de Guinée (ISSEG)); SALL, Saïdou moustapha<saidou.m.sall@gmail.com> (Laboratoire de Physique de l'Atmosphère et de l'Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar,); BADIANE, Daouda<daouda.badiane@esp.sn> (Laboratoire de Physique de l'Atmosphère et de l'Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar,); DIKHATE, Moussa<pmdiakhate@gmail.com> (Laboratoire de Physique de l'Atmosphère et de l'Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar,); SENGHOR, Habib<sengorabib83@yahoo.fr> (Laboratoire de Physique de l'Atmosphère et de l'Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar,); MILLIMONO, Tamba Nicolas<mtambanicolas@yahoo.com> (Laboratoire de Physique de l'Atmosphère et de l'Océan Siméon Fongang (LPAO-SF), Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar, Institut Supérieure des Sciences de l'Education de Guinée (ISSEG))
275133 Poster Track Design of a PID Controller for Three-phase Inverter  in Grid Connected Photovoltaic System Gueye, Daouda<daouda.gueye2@uadb.edu.sn>
275128 Poster Track Energy control and management based on the  Arduino card of a connected  photovoltaic system with Storage  Traoré , Mamadou <mamadou.traore@uadb.edu.sn>
275507 Poster Track for Workshop -Climate Change SUSTAINABLE BUILDING DESIGN IN WEST AFRICA: THE ROLE OF BUILDING SIMULATION AND MODELING  KEBE, Cheikh M Fadel<cmkebe@gmail.com>
275384 Poster Track for Workshop -Climate Change Assessment of the Carbon Sequestration Capacity in Closed Vegetation and Gallery Forests: Case study of marginal forests in Adamawa Cameroon TALLA TANKAM, Narcisse<ntalla@gmail.com> (Automatic and Applied Computer Engineering Laboratory (LAIA), University Institute of Technology Fotso Victor, University of Dschang, Cameroon.); Maurice, NDIKWÉ DOURWÉ<ndikwedourwemaurice55@yahoo.fr> (Geomatic Laboratory, FALSH, University of Ngaoundere, Cameroon.); Idriss Landry, KOUEDJOU<kouedjou.landry@gmail.com> (Geomatic Laboratory, FALSH, University of Ngaoundere, Cameroon.); Michel, TCHOTSOUA<tchotsoua@yahoo.fr> (Geomatic Laboratory, FALSH, University of Ngaoundere, Cameroon.)
275328 Poster Track for Workshop -Climate Change Cropping two sorghum varieties under irrigation, an intensification strategy to mitigate climate change induced effect in Burkina Faso, West Africa Coulibaly, Pane Jeanne d'Arc<panecoul@yahoo.fr> (Institut de l’Environnement et de recherches Agricoles (INERA)/Kamboinsé, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso); Ouattara, Badiori<alwatdior58@gmail.com> (Institut de l’Environnement et de recherches Agricoles (INERA)/Kamboinsé, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso); Gaiser, Thomas<tgaise@uni-bonn.de> (University of Bonn, Germany); Worou, Nadine<worou.n@wascal.org> (WASCAL Competence Center, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso); Tondoh, Jerome Ebagnerin T<tondoh.e@wascal.org> (WASCAL Competence Center, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso); Okae-Anti, Daniel<dokaeant@yahoo.co.uk> (University of Cape Coast, Ghana); Sedogo, Michel Papaoba<michel_sedogo@yahoo.fr> (Institut de l’Environnement et de recherches Agricoles (INERA)/Kamboinsé, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso)
275327 Poster Track for Workshop -Climate Change Statistical Downscaling of Global Climate Model MIROC_4h outputs to Precipitation in Rwanda    Nkusi, Pearl<nkusipearl@gmail.com> (Rwanda Environment Management Authority); Mutabazi, Alphonse<mutalpho@hotmail.com> (Rwanda Environment Management Authority)
275332 Short Papers Track The role of corporate entrepreneurs in designing off-grid energy service with its users: A case study of SELCO in Bangalore Amiraly, Akil<akil.amiraly@polytechnique.edu> (i3, Ecole Polytechnique, CNRS); Haruki, Sawamura<haruki.sawamura@polytechnique.edu> (i3, Ecole Polytechnique, CNRS)
275325 Short Papers Track E-medicine: a secure transmission of electrocardiograms using chaotic oscillators synchronization Tiedeu, Alain<alain_tiedeu@yahoo.fr>; Abanda, Yannick<antonyabanda@gmail.com> (ENSP, University of Yaoundé I)
275271 Short Papers Track Predictive Models for Short Term Global Horizontal Irradiation in Zimbabwe based on Machine Learning Algorithms Jekese, Gladman<gjekese@hit.ac.zw> (Harare Institute of Technology); Makondo, Wellington<wmakondo@hit.ac.zw> (Harare Institute of Technology); Chiteka, Kudzanayi<kchiteka@hit.ac.zw> (Harare Institute of Technology)
275233 Short Papers Track Representing the present-day regional climate over Southern Africa in a double nested system Klutse, Nana AmaBrowne<amabrowne@gmail.com> (Ghana Space Science and Technology Institute, Ghana Atomic Energy Commission, Ghana)
275159 Short Papers Track Strategic choices of ICT Policies and Infrastructure for closing the Digital Divide: Case Study of Rwanda and Uganda Munezero, Martine<mhabiman@andrew.cmu.edu> (School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Carnegie Mellon University); Nkiriki, Joan<jnkiriki@andrew.cmu.edu> (School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Carnegie Mellon University); Garba, Aminata<aminata@andrew.cmu.edu> (School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Carnegie Mellon University); Saint, Martin<msaint@andrew.cmu.edu> (School of Electrical and Computer Engineering Carnegie Mellon University)
275151 Short Papers Track Bringing Life Where There is no Light: a low-cost movie projection and data collection solution for underserved areas Shema, Alain<sralain@syr.edu> (Syracuse University); Bezy, Michel<bezy@andrew.cmu.edu> (Carnegie Mellon University in Africa)
275423 Workshop- Climate Change Track Climate Change May Result in More Water Availability in Parts of the African Sahel Seidou, Ousmane<ousmane.seidou@uottawa.ca>
275386 Workshop- Climate Change Track Climate change mitigation potential in agricultural and forestry sector: The impact of expanded woody biomass co-firing on global climate stabilization EGBENDEWE, AklessoY. G.<emaklesso@gmail.com> (University of Lome)
275331 Workshop- Climate Change Track Potential impact of climate change on biodiversity and ecosystem function: The case of dry season vegetable farms in Northern Ghana Thorn, Jessica P. R. <jessicaprthorn@gmail.com>
275317 Workshop- Climate Change Track Beyond participation: Welfare effects of gender-differentiated group-based approaches under climate change in Kenya  ngigi, Marther<martherngigi@gmail.com> (Machakos University)
275302 Workshop- Climate Change Track Climate change signals over Senegal River Basin using Regional Climate Models of the CORDEX Africa  simulations MBAYE, Mamadou Lamine<mlmbaye@univ-zig.sn> (Laboratoire d'Océanographie, des Sciences de l'Environnement et du Climat (LOSEC) Université Assane SECK de Ziguinchor BP 523 Ziguinchor - Sénégal); DIATTA, Samo<samo.diatta@univ-zig.sn> (Laboratoire d'Océanographie, des Sciences de l'Environnement et du Climat (LOSEC) Université Assane SECK de Ziguinchor BP 523 Ziguinchor - Sénégal); GAYE, Amadou Thierno<atgaye@gmail.com> (2Laboratoire Physique de l'Atmosphère et de l'Océan (LPAO), ESP/UCAD/Sénégal)
275300 Workshop- Climate Change Track Deficit Irrigation for Increasing Water Productivity, Forage and Quality of Alfalfa in Arid Region of African Countries. Mouradi, Mohammed<m.mouradi@hotmail.fr>; Bouizgaren, Abdelaziz<abouizgaren@yahoo.fr> (Unit of Plant Breeding, National Institute for Agronomical Research (INRA), Marrakesh, Morocco.); Farissi, Mohamed<mfarissi@yahoo.fr> (Laboratory of Biotechnology & Sustainable Development of Natural Resources, Polydisciplinary Faculty, Sultan Moulay Slimane University.); Latrach, Lahbib<latrachl@yahoo.fr> (Unit of Plant Breeding, National Institute for Agronomical Research (INRA), Marrakesh, Morocco.); Ghoulam, Cherki<ghoulamc@outlook.fr> (Unit of Biotechnology and Symbioses Agrophysiology, Faculty of Sciences and Techniques, Marrakesh, Morocco.)
274945 Workshop- Climate Change Track Evaluation and updating of two regional design flow  estimation in West Africa – the ORSTOM and CIEH methods AGOUNGBOME, Sehouevi Mawuton David<sehouevi.m.d.agoungbome@aims-senegal.org> (AIMS Senegal); SEIDOU, Ousmane<Ousmane.Seidou@uottawa.ca> (Department of Civil Engineering – University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada); THIAM, Moussa<moussa@aims-senegal.org> (Department of Civil Engineering – University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada)